Communication Objectives

In my last two research posts I looked into the themes behind the article and selected two of them to be my central focus.

1. Value/Self worth online

2. Culture of self promotion/advertising

In my research posts I also covered ideas on how I can use the principles of design to portray my meaning.

In essence, my goal is for the image to be visually striking and to make the viewer challenge the social media effect on teenagers. I would like to take either a futuristic approach on my visual to show the exaggerated long term effects of finding value through ‘likes’ etc. Am example of this is the image below. This image immediately can be seen as a look into the future with even babies using technology and everyone on their own cyber-worlds. The traditional image of a family all smiling and cuddled up in bed is now replaces with disengaged family members. I am aiming for my image to have a similar effect where the traditional ideas of what is ‘normal’ is replaced with something that will soon become normalized.

29-10-2011-20

 

I am also aiming to use the phrase ‘Dont judge a book by its cover”. According to the Cambridge idioms dictionary this means that you cannot judge the quality or character of someone or something just by looking at them. This phrase ties in nicely with the chosen two themes. In terms of self value and worth, often a book that is lustrous and colourful will be selected over a book that is dull and aging. The new book could be the most boring or ill-written piece and the less visually appealing book might actually be a religious holy book, which is essentially priceless. Although this idiom is metaphorical, I would like to be very literal in my image by actually using books. 

tumblr_lxk2gl4xhq1r726ojo1_500                     6486909737_950b4268b4_z

In terms of my other theme; advertising and self-promotion, I feel that the culture of promoting your life and face on social media in order for people to think of you in a certain way can be linked to the idiom. However in light of the article, it is not other people judging us, it is us striving to get others to formulate a desired judgement of us. For example, an insecure and shy girl might post very seductive and bold pictures on Facebook in order for other people to regard her as ‘sexy and confident’ when in reality she is shy. A person who is lonely and has a quiet social life might take lots of pictures of them doing fun and exciting things overseas etc, when in reality they are deprived of company.

facebook-vs-reality                                  tumblr_mdibtwYy7B1qmdlvho1_500

I have chosen my two themes(value and self promotion), the idiom (don’t judge a book by its cover), images (books) and now the challenge is to make it specific to the content within article. The key parts of the article I need to incorporate and possible visual codes I can use are listed below

1. Social media

high-res-logo_facebook11c6c64b

2. Young teenage girls

dressestumblr_m52q8vj6d61r52fzv

3. Selfie

 

1016969monalisaducklips

APA:

You can’t judge a book by its cover. (n.d.) Cambridge Idioms Dictionary, 2nd ed.. (2006). Retrieved March 20 2015 from http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/You+can%27t+judge+a+book+by+its+cover

 

Images

http://www.feedbox.com/do-you-know-who-was-in-the-first-selfie/

5 thoughts on “Communication Objectives

  1. This is a well developing idea- you clearly know exactly what it is that you are looking to do and have many examples which are helping to inspire what you want your end product to be!

    Be careful to not be too literal as to actually use words, as that’s outside what we can do, but find other ways to translate that idea visually.

    Like

  2. I love your topic.. or I should say I hate it. I am often getting irritated when I am hanging out with friends and there is no real communication anymore because everyone is staring at their phone. I myself am guilty of this and it bothers me. What I find interesting is that we all know that we are being consumed by social media but do nothing about it! I really like these images you have about not judging a book by it’s cover. I strongly believe that people put on a personality that often hides their true identity, just to be considered equal or “cool”. Looking forward to your final image!

    Like

  3. I like your topic around how we lose face to face communication and everything is around social media online these days and how that impact on our lives and generations. It is such a hot topic!
    The visual is cool, the side drawers, laptops (one black one white) are balanced, the mum and dad on each side with a child in the middle and the food plate and a child in the front – They are all well balanced, created a harmony. The colours are well-adjusted too, nothing too dramatic, all real colours for real objects.

    Like

  4. Haha you’ve actually chosen a pretty similar idea (in terms of the article) to me and it’s real interesting to see just how much of a different idea you’ve created with it and I think it’s great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

